Christine Wells and One Woman’s War

Anne here, and today I'm interviewing Christine Wells, whose latest book, One Woman's War: A Novel of the Real Miss Moneypenny, is coming out next week. You can preorder it here.

OneWoman'sWarChristine's books featuring strong, fascinating women have gained some wonderful reviews. “One Woman's War is a thrilling and suspenseful ride, perfect for fans of Kate Quinn, Beatriz Williams and Natasha Lester. Inspired by historic events, this story will have readers on the edge of their seats. Christine Wells’ masterful characterisation and meticulous research have made for one of the best books of the year.” (Kelly Rimmer New York Times Bestselling Author of The German Wife)
Booklist: “An exciting story, well told.

Anne: Christine, welcome back to the Word Wenches, it's lovely to see you here. (For those who haven't met Christine before, she's been interviewed by Nicola, Andrea, and now me. You can see our earlier interviews with her by clicking on those links.

Christine, after a very successful career writing Regency-era historical romance (as Christina Brooke) you've switched in recent years to writing historical novels, set around WW2. Apart from One Woman's War, there is Sisters of the Resistance: A Novel of Catherine Dior's Paris Spy Network, inspired by the real-life bravery of Catherine Dior, sister of the fashion designer and a heroine of World War II France. The Juliet Code is about a British agent and wireless operator in occupied Paris who was caught by the Germans.

Read more

Christine Wells and the 18th century Crim. Con.

Christine WellsNicola here. Today I am delighted to welcome Christine Wells to the Word Wenches. Christine is a former corporate lawyer turned award-winning author of Regency historical romance and her beautifully written and emotionally poignant books have always been on my auto-buy list. You may imagine my excitement when I discovered that Christine was taking her writing in a new direction with The Wife's Tale, a sweeping novel set in the eighteenth century and the present. No spoilers here as I want everyone to discover and enjoy this fabulous book for themselves but I will say that The Wife's Tale is a book whose characters and their story stayed with me a long time after reading. I even dreamed about it! Now it's over to Christine to talk about the fascinating history of the Criminal Conversation trial, a theme that lies at the heart of The Wife's Tale.

Thank you very much to Nicola and the wonderful Word Wenches for having me here today. I’ve always been a fan of this blog (not to mention the novels of its authors!) and I’m thrilled to return today to share some background from my new novel, THE WIFE’S TALE.

Those of you who are devotees of Georgette Heyer might recall fleeting references to the latest scandalous “crim. con.” news in some of her books. Heyer never goes into detail about these court cases but as a former lawyer myself, I found the cause of action intriguing.

When embarking on a slightly new direction with my historical fiction, I wanted to marry my professional experience as a solicitor and love of legal history with my passion for the history of English country houses. I suddenly recalled the action of criminal conversation and realised it would be a perfect springboard for a story full of intrigue and scandal about English aristocrats in the late eighteenth century.

Read more