Audio News: Dearly Beloved and More

DearlyBeloved Ebookby Mary Jo

Audiobooks, like so many elements of publishing (and the world in general) have changed greatly in recent years.  Once upon a time, only huge bestselling mainstream books had audio editions.  They were really expensive and libraries were the primary market. (In those days a lot of audiobooks were on cassettes!  Remember them? <G>)

But there was interest in audio, so gradually more genre books like romance began to be recorded.  My first audiobook was The Wild Child, which came out in 1999.  I was so excited–I felt that I had arrived! 

I don't know if at that time any authors were producing independent audio version of their books–probably not.  The norm was for the print publisher to subcontract audio rights to a specialist audio producer.  The production company chose the narrator and did the engineering and distribution.  (I never had any input on any of that, but I was happy that the audiobooks were available for those who wanted them.)

Then the digital revolution arrived and everything changed, contracts at well as RiverOfFiretechnology.  Not only did most print books routinely be released with simultaneous e-book editions, but the tools became available for authors to independently publish their own e-books, and we all know what tsunami that has become!

A couple more years passed, and the tools became available for authors to produce their own audiobooks, working directly with narrators and cover designers.  That's where we are now, and I've produced a number of audio versions of my older stores. 

Originally published in 1990, Dearly Beloved was my first full length historical romance DearlyBelovedAudio, written after I'd done seven shorter Regency romances.  I wanted to do something different, stronger and edgier than my traditional Regencies, and I did, but at that time, there were no ebooks and audio wasn't even a gleam in my eye. 

Last summer I did a blog when Dearly Beloved was released by my current publisher if you'd like to know more about the story and its history. 

This time around, it was routinely released as an e-book at the same time, and now, happily, an audiobook version has just been released as well.  Since this was a commercial production, I don't have any free giveaway codes, but the book is now available in audio if that's your preference. 

More recently, I blogged about my creation of an audiobook page on my website so all available audio editions are listed in one place. Yes, I've been spending a lot of time on audiobooks recently!

Readers in other countries have told me they couldn't buy some of my audiobooks because of territorial distribution limits, so I'm happy to say that there is good news on this front. 

I've been working with my agent to see if older commercial audiobooks could be expanded to world wide availability.  It's a complicated issue because most of the original audio Black Beastcontracts were held by former publishers of mine, so much detective work was required. Not by me, but by the audio specialist at my literary agency.  She is a goddess, and has tracked down the current status of those audiobooks and negotiated with the audio producers to expand the territories.  We've just reached a mutual agreement, so in what will hopefully be the not-too-distant future, audiobook fans outside of North America should be able to acquire audiobooks of older titles.

Also, a mystery was solved.  A UK reader told me recently that there was no audio edition available of The China Bride, which surprised me because I knew it had been recorded–I have a copy on my audiobook shelf.  It turns out that for reasons unknown, that audiobook was contracted for library distribution only–there was no consumer edition even though the other two books in the Bride trilogy were available. So that is an issue that will soon be corrected and people who would like to listen to the story of Troth and Kyle will be able to do so Petals in the Storm

In my last bit of audio news, Siobhan Waring will begin work on the audio edition of Silk and Shadows, book 1 of my Silk trilogy. She has scheduled time of the other two books as well, so by the end of this year or early in 2021, audio editions of the trilogy will be available. And after that? Well, I have more books in need of audio editions!  I hope someday to have all my books available in audio. Stay tuned!

Mary Jo

40 thoughts on “Audio News: Dearly Beloved and More”

  1. Bravo! Fabulous news Mary Jo …. all of your available audios are destined for my library!
    Although it may be expensive to create audio books it should be remembered that memory for storing digital files is now very cheap so that they can be available for eternity. They should provide a nice income for many years for very little further expenditure.
    I find it curious that some authors including some here, embrace audio, while many well known authors still don’t take them seriously. For example Lisa Kleypas has no audio available in English in the UK and she cannot be contacted by readers for feedback. I’m also a big fan of Rosanne Bittner’s Western romance and recently contacted her to ask if more audio could be added to the five available. She replied to say:
    “I have no control over what books are made into audio form. If I want to do them on my own, it’s very expensive, so I’m not sure how to get more made but I am looking into it.”
    I think that you are blazing a fresh trail here Mary Jo and hope that other authors out there are taking note …. though I admit to a selfish interest in this!

    Reply
  2. Bravo! Fabulous news Mary Jo …. all of your available audios are destined for my library!
    Although it may be expensive to create audio books it should be remembered that memory for storing digital files is now very cheap so that they can be available for eternity. They should provide a nice income for many years for very little further expenditure.
    I find it curious that some authors including some here, embrace audio, while many well known authors still don’t take them seriously. For example Lisa Kleypas has no audio available in English in the UK and she cannot be contacted by readers for feedback. I’m also a big fan of Rosanne Bittner’s Western romance and recently contacted her to ask if more audio could be added to the five available. She replied to say:
    “I have no control over what books are made into audio form. If I want to do them on my own, it’s very expensive, so I’m not sure how to get more made but I am looking into it.”
    I think that you are blazing a fresh trail here Mary Jo and hope that other authors out there are taking note …. though I admit to a selfish interest in this!

    Reply
  3. Bravo! Fabulous news Mary Jo …. all of your available audios are destined for my library!
    Although it may be expensive to create audio books it should be remembered that memory for storing digital files is now very cheap so that they can be available for eternity. They should provide a nice income for many years for very little further expenditure.
    I find it curious that some authors including some here, embrace audio, while many well known authors still don’t take them seriously. For example Lisa Kleypas has no audio available in English in the UK and she cannot be contacted by readers for feedback. I’m also a big fan of Rosanne Bittner’s Western romance and recently contacted her to ask if more audio could be added to the five available. She replied to say:
    “I have no control over what books are made into audio form. If I want to do them on my own, it’s very expensive, so I’m not sure how to get more made but I am looking into it.”
    I think that you are blazing a fresh trail here Mary Jo and hope that other authors out there are taking note …. though I admit to a selfish interest in this!

    Reply
  4. Bravo! Fabulous news Mary Jo …. all of your available audios are destined for my library!
    Although it may be expensive to create audio books it should be remembered that memory for storing digital files is now very cheap so that they can be available for eternity. They should provide a nice income for many years for very little further expenditure.
    I find it curious that some authors including some here, embrace audio, while many well known authors still don’t take them seriously. For example Lisa Kleypas has no audio available in English in the UK and she cannot be contacted by readers for feedback. I’m also a big fan of Rosanne Bittner’s Western romance and recently contacted her to ask if more audio could be added to the five available. She replied to say:
    “I have no control over what books are made into audio form. If I want to do them on my own, it’s very expensive, so I’m not sure how to get more made but I am looking into it.”
    I think that you are blazing a fresh trail here Mary Jo and hope that other authors out there are taking note …. though I admit to a selfish interest in this!

    Reply
  5. Bravo! Fabulous news Mary Jo …. all of your available audios are destined for my library!
    Although it may be expensive to create audio books it should be remembered that memory for storing digital files is now very cheap so that they can be available for eternity. They should provide a nice income for many years for very little further expenditure.
    I find it curious that some authors including some here, embrace audio, while many well known authors still don’t take them seriously. For example Lisa Kleypas has no audio available in English in the UK and she cannot be contacted by readers for feedback. I’m also a big fan of Rosanne Bittner’s Western romance and recently contacted her to ask if more audio could be added to the five available. She replied to say:
    “I have no control over what books are made into audio form. If I want to do them on my own, it’s very expensive, so I’m not sure how to get more made but I am looking into it.”
    I think that you are blazing a fresh trail here Mary Jo and hope that other authors out there are taking note …. though I admit to a selfish interest in this!

    Reply
  6. I worked in a large library system in the early 2000s as Books on Tape and Books on CD were becoming widely available to the general public. Previously, they were mainly reserved for sight-impaired customers. It wasn’t long before other customers began to discover BoT and BoCD fit into their active lifestyles and we began not only ordering more Fiction, Romances and Mysteries, but Non-fiction, such as History, Biography, self-improvement, business texts, etc. I left the library before we made the jump to downloadable formats. Pretty much were ever I go now I see people with their ears plugged into their media source and quite a few of those are listening to books.

    Reply
  7. I worked in a large library system in the early 2000s as Books on Tape and Books on CD were becoming widely available to the general public. Previously, they were mainly reserved for sight-impaired customers. It wasn’t long before other customers began to discover BoT and BoCD fit into their active lifestyles and we began not only ordering more Fiction, Romances and Mysteries, but Non-fiction, such as History, Biography, self-improvement, business texts, etc. I left the library before we made the jump to downloadable formats. Pretty much were ever I go now I see people with their ears plugged into their media source and quite a few of those are listening to books.

    Reply
  8. I worked in a large library system in the early 2000s as Books on Tape and Books on CD were becoming widely available to the general public. Previously, they were mainly reserved for sight-impaired customers. It wasn’t long before other customers began to discover BoT and BoCD fit into their active lifestyles and we began not only ordering more Fiction, Romances and Mysteries, but Non-fiction, such as History, Biography, self-improvement, business texts, etc. I left the library before we made the jump to downloadable formats. Pretty much were ever I go now I see people with their ears plugged into their media source and quite a few of those are listening to books.

    Reply
  9. I worked in a large library system in the early 2000s as Books on Tape and Books on CD were becoming widely available to the general public. Previously, they were mainly reserved for sight-impaired customers. It wasn’t long before other customers began to discover BoT and BoCD fit into their active lifestyles and we began not only ordering more Fiction, Romances and Mysteries, but Non-fiction, such as History, Biography, self-improvement, business texts, etc. I left the library before we made the jump to downloadable formats. Pretty much were ever I go now I see people with their ears plugged into their media source and quite a few of those are listening to books.

    Reply
  10. I worked in a large library system in the early 2000s as Books on Tape and Books on CD were becoming widely available to the general public. Previously, they were mainly reserved for sight-impaired customers. It wasn’t long before other customers began to discover BoT and BoCD fit into their active lifestyles and we began not only ordering more Fiction, Romances and Mysteries, but Non-fiction, such as History, Biography, self-improvement, business texts, etc. I left the library before we made the jump to downloadable formats. Pretty much were ever I go now I see people with their ears plugged into their media source and quite a few of those are listening to books.

    Reply
  11. Sue, it’s a great time to be an audiobook lover! Your daughter might like to look at audioboom.com They distributed free codes to interested listeners in return for a pledge to give the audio edition a review. She might find that interesting.

    Reply
  12. Sue, it’s a great time to be an audiobook lover! Your daughter might like to look at audioboom.com They distributed free codes to interested listeners in return for a pledge to give the audio edition a review. She might find that interesting.

    Reply
  13. Sue, it’s a great time to be an audiobook lover! Your daughter might like to look at audioboom.com They distributed free codes to interested listeners in return for a pledge to give the audio edition a review. She might find that interesting.

    Reply
  14. Sue, it’s a great time to be an audiobook lover! Your daughter might like to look at audioboom.com They distributed free codes to interested listeners in return for a pledge to give the audio edition a review. She might find that interesting.

    Reply
  15. Sue, it’s a great time to be an audiobook lover! Your daughter might like to look at audioboom.com They distributed free codes to interested listeners in return for a pledge to give the audio edition a review. She might find that interesting.

    Reply
  16. I recognize that you’re not exactly detached about audiobook availability, Quantum! You raise several interesting points. It sounds as if Lisa Kleypas’s publisher arranges for audio editions and they aren’t very diligent. Lisa is very successful and if she asked her publisher to expand availability, they might do it, but it sounds like she isn’t interested in pursuing that.
    Rosanne Bittner is right–it IS very expensive to produce one’s own audio, and I’m in the red for the ones I’ve done. Yes, the audio editions will last indefinitely from a technical point of view, but marketing is the issue. If I stop writing new books and people forget about me, there will also be a loss of interest in my audio editions. I keep doing them because A) I have an obsessive/completist streak (surprise!) and also because I like making the stories available for those who really want them.
    I don’t think I’m really a trail blazer, but I’m a curious beast so when something new comes along, I usually poke it with a stick to see what happens. Hence, I started producing ebooks of backlist in 2011, I think, and now I’m gnawing away at the audios. Obessession has its uses. *G*

    Reply
  17. I recognize that you’re not exactly detached about audiobook availability, Quantum! You raise several interesting points. It sounds as if Lisa Kleypas’s publisher arranges for audio editions and they aren’t very diligent. Lisa is very successful and if she asked her publisher to expand availability, they might do it, but it sounds like she isn’t interested in pursuing that.
    Rosanne Bittner is right–it IS very expensive to produce one’s own audio, and I’m in the red for the ones I’ve done. Yes, the audio editions will last indefinitely from a technical point of view, but marketing is the issue. If I stop writing new books and people forget about me, there will also be a loss of interest in my audio editions. I keep doing them because A) I have an obsessive/completist streak (surprise!) and also because I like making the stories available for those who really want them.
    I don’t think I’m really a trail blazer, but I’m a curious beast so when something new comes along, I usually poke it with a stick to see what happens. Hence, I started producing ebooks of backlist in 2011, I think, and now I’m gnawing away at the audios. Obessession has its uses. *G*

    Reply
  18. I recognize that you’re not exactly detached about audiobook availability, Quantum! You raise several interesting points. It sounds as if Lisa Kleypas’s publisher arranges for audio editions and they aren’t very diligent. Lisa is very successful and if she asked her publisher to expand availability, they might do it, but it sounds like she isn’t interested in pursuing that.
    Rosanne Bittner is right–it IS very expensive to produce one’s own audio, and I’m in the red for the ones I’ve done. Yes, the audio editions will last indefinitely from a technical point of view, but marketing is the issue. If I stop writing new books and people forget about me, there will also be a loss of interest in my audio editions. I keep doing them because A) I have an obsessive/completist streak (surprise!) and also because I like making the stories available for those who really want them.
    I don’t think I’m really a trail blazer, but I’m a curious beast so when something new comes along, I usually poke it with a stick to see what happens. Hence, I started producing ebooks of backlist in 2011, I think, and now I’m gnawing away at the audios. Obessession has its uses. *G*

    Reply
  19. I recognize that you’re not exactly detached about audiobook availability, Quantum! You raise several interesting points. It sounds as if Lisa Kleypas’s publisher arranges for audio editions and they aren’t very diligent. Lisa is very successful and if she asked her publisher to expand availability, they might do it, but it sounds like she isn’t interested in pursuing that.
    Rosanne Bittner is right–it IS very expensive to produce one’s own audio, and I’m in the red for the ones I’ve done. Yes, the audio editions will last indefinitely from a technical point of view, but marketing is the issue. If I stop writing new books and people forget about me, there will also be a loss of interest in my audio editions. I keep doing them because A) I have an obsessive/completist streak (surprise!) and also because I like making the stories available for those who really want them.
    I don’t think I’m really a trail blazer, but I’m a curious beast so when something new comes along, I usually poke it with a stick to see what happens. Hence, I started producing ebooks of backlist in 2011, I think, and now I’m gnawing away at the audios. Obessession has its uses. *G*

    Reply
  20. I recognize that you’re not exactly detached about audiobook availability, Quantum! You raise several interesting points. It sounds as if Lisa Kleypas’s publisher arranges for audio editions and they aren’t very diligent. Lisa is very successful and if she asked her publisher to expand availability, they might do it, but it sounds like she isn’t interested in pursuing that.
    Rosanne Bittner is right–it IS very expensive to produce one’s own audio, and I’m in the red for the ones I’ve done. Yes, the audio editions will last indefinitely from a technical point of view, but marketing is the issue. If I stop writing new books and people forget about me, there will also be a loss of interest in my audio editions. I keep doing them because A) I have an obsessive/completist streak (surprise!) and also because I like making the stories available for those who really want them.
    I don’t think I’m really a trail blazer, but I’m a curious beast so when something new comes along, I usually poke it with a stick to see what happens. Hence, I started producing ebooks of backlist in 2011, I think, and now I’m gnawing away at the audios. Obessession has its uses. *G*

    Reply
  21. Pamela, thanks for the report from the front lines of the library! I thought that’s what happened–increased availability produced increased demand. So now there are LOTS of audiobooks available!

    Reply
  22. Pamela, thanks for the report from the front lines of the library! I thought that’s what happened–increased availability produced increased demand. So now there are LOTS of audiobooks available!

    Reply
  23. Pamela, thanks for the report from the front lines of the library! I thought that’s what happened–increased availability produced increased demand. So now there are LOTS of audiobooks available!

    Reply
  24. Pamela, thanks for the report from the front lines of the library! I thought that’s what happened–increased availability produced increased demand. So now there are LOTS of audiobooks available!

    Reply
  25. Pamela, thanks for the report from the front lines of the library! I thought that’s what happened–increased availability produced increased demand. So now there are LOTS of audiobooks available!

    Reply
  26. That’s great news, Mary Jo. I used to listen to them during my long commutes to work years ago. I am sure there are so many people who have reasons of their own for tuning in so well done you for sorting out the issues with distribution.

    Reply
  27. That’s great news, Mary Jo. I used to listen to them during my long commutes to work years ago. I am sure there are so many people who have reasons of their own for tuning in so well done you for sorting out the issues with distribution.

    Reply
  28. That’s great news, Mary Jo. I used to listen to them during my long commutes to work years ago. I am sure there are so many people who have reasons of their own for tuning in so well done you for sorting out the issues with distribution.

    Reply
  29. That’s great news, Mary Jo. I used to listen to them during my long commutes to work years ago. I am sure there are so many people who have reasons of their own for tuning in so well done you for sorting out the issues with distribution.

    Reply
  30. That’s great news, Mary Jo. I used to listen to them during my long commutes to work years ago. I am sure there are so many people who have reasons of their own for tuning in so well done you for sorting out the issues with distribution.

    Reply
  31. Hip, hip, hurray for new audiobooks! I just love your stories Mary Jo and audiobooks make them so much more meaningful. Book hugs,

    Reply
  32. Hip, hip, hurray for new audiobooks! I just love your stories Mary Jo and audiobooks make them so much more meaningful. Book hugs,

    Reply
  33. Hip, hip, hurray for new audiobooks! I just love your stories Mary Jo and audiobooks make them so much more meaningful. Book hugs,

    Reply
  34. Hip, hip, hurray for new audiobooks! I just love your stories Mary Jo and audiobooks make them so much more meaningful. Book hugs,

    Reply
  35. Hip, hip, hurray for new audiobooks! I just love your stories Mary Jo and audiobooks make them so much more meaningful. Book hugs,

    Reply

Leave a Comment